IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEVADA

IN THE MATTER OF THE AMENDMENT OF THE SUPREME COURT RULES, AND THE CREATION OF COMMITTEES RELATING TO THE ADMISSION OF APPLICANTS TO PRACTICE LAW. ADKT 171 FILED

JUN 25 1998 JANETTE M. BLOOM CLERK OF SUPREME COURT BY CHIEF DEPUTY CLERK

98-00612

ORDER OF APPOINTMENT RE: FUNCTIONAL EQUIVALENCY COMMITTEE

On September 29, 1993, this court entered an order amending the Supreme Court Rules governing admission to practice, and establishing two provisional committees relating to the admission of applicants to the practice of law in this state, to wit: the Committee on Moral Character and Fitness to Practice Law, and the Committee on Functional Equivalency. This court, by order entered November 17, 1993, appointed the committee members and chairs to serve one-year terms expiring October 1, 1994. Pending the adoption of rules permanently establishing the two committees, on October 10, 1994, this court extended the terms of the committee members and chairs to October 1, 1995. Although this court subsequently amended the Supreme Court Rules to provide for the permanent establishment of these two committees effective December 1, 1996, no further order was entered regarding the terms of the members and chair of the Committee on Functional Equivalency previously appointed by this court.

It appears to the court that the following attorneys have served as members of the Committee on Functional Equivalency pursuant to court appointment since its creation in 1993:

> Thomas D. Beatty, Chair Richard Trachok Harold Morse Elizabeth Goff Gonzalez

It further appears that Harold Morse desires to resign from the committee due to other obligations and that John Mulligan has been recommended by the chair to fill the vacancy created by Harold Morse's resignation. Accordingly,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that, pursuant to SCR 49(4) the following individuals are reappointed to serve as members of the Committee on Functional Equivalency for one-year terms commencing October 1, 1995, and expiring October 1, 1996, and for additional three-year terms commencing October 1, 1996, and expiring October 1, 1999:

> Thomas D. Beatty Richard Trachok Harold Morse Elizabeth Goff Gonzalez

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Thomas D. Beatty is reappointed to serve as the Chair of the Committee on Functional Equivalency for the duration of his current term on the committee.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that John Mulligan is appointed to fill the unexpired term of Harold Morse.

ENTERED NUNC PRO TUNC this 25th day of June, 1998.

,C.J. J. Shearing J. Rose J. J. Maupin





cc: Karen A. Peterson, Chair, Board of Bar Examiners Thomas D. Beatty, Chair, Functional Equivalency Committee Richard Trachok Harold Morse Elizabeth Goff Gonzalez John Mulligan Deena Trueblood, Admissions Director Wayne Blevins, Executive Director, State Bar