

October 24, 2018

Chief Justice Michael Douglas Nevada Supreme Court 201 South Carson Street Carson City, NV 89701-4702

OCT 24 2018

On behalf of the Nevada Justice Association, thank you for the opportunity to address and comment on amendments to ADKT499. We appreciate the hard work of both the Supreme Court and Board of Continuing Legal Education in reviewing and revising last year's decisions.

As a small non-profit that prides itself on the amount and quality of CLE it presents, we found the 2017 regulations financially challenging and created a burden on staff time and resources. We've appreciated the changes made in response to our concerns in the interim but feel more changes need to be made.

NJA has many of the same concerns addressed by the Bar in their letter dated October 22, 2018. Financial projections and a clear budget have not been presented to the providers who are being asked to increase their work load and financial burden as related to CLE's in Nevada. After reviewing the amendment to ADKT0499 and the commentary of the State Bar, we agree with and fully support the position of the State Bar of Nevada. We also support the State Bar's suggestion to move the duties of the CLE board under their auspices.

We look forward to this continuing dialogue. We all share the same goal of producing quality CLE and increasing attorney compliance. Our mission at NJA is to create the best trial lawyers in the country, but it must be financially reasonable to do so. Developing creative content in new, progressive formats can be costly and challenging. We feel the State Bar's proposals allows us to move forward with the best possible education options for our members and all attorneys in Nevada.

Sincerely,

Pat Leverty, Esq.

Nevada Justice Association

President

# **PRESIDENT**

Brian D. Nettles

### PRESIDENT-ELECT

Patrick R. Leverty

## VICE-PRESIDENT

Brett A. Carter

### TREASURER

Kimberly M. Surratt

#### SECRETARY

David D. Boehrer

#### **BOARD OF GOVERNORS**

George T. Bochanis Alison M. Brasier Jamie S. Cogburn Graham A. Galloway Michael D. Haight Robert R. Jensen Craig W. Kidwell Cliff W. Marcek Robert E. Marshall Jason D. Mills Christian M. Morris Stephen H. Osborne Herb J. Santos, Jr. Eva G. Segerblom Matthew L. Sharp Laurence B. Springberg Leonard H. Stone Mark C. Wenzel

#### **IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT**

Kathleen A. Sigurdson

#### **GOVERNORS EMERITUS**

John Squire Drendel Peter Chase Neumann Gerald M. Welt

## EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Victoria Coolbaugh

406 North Nevada Street Carson City NV 89703 Tel 775-883-3577 Fax 775-883-5372

717 South Third Street Las Vegas, NV 89101 Tel 702-732-8409 Fax 702-732-9310

www.nevadajustice.org